Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Ten Books/Authors That Will Make You Laugh


Top Ten Tuesdays are hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Today is all about funny books.

I thought of so many that I have two lists. One of the first 10 specific books I thought of, and another of authors I generally consider funny.

Books

1. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
I rarely laugh out loud, but I do when reading her comics. My favorite is "Adventures in Depression," which is still just as funny the 20th time as it was the first.

2. Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
I really need to read this one again. It's wacky and satirical, and I totally loved it.

3. Bossypants by Tina Fey
I read this when it first came out, and later listened to the audio. Not many people are funnier than Tina Fey.

4. Bridget Jones's Diary by Helen Fielding
The audio version is even better, and I've listened to it about 4 times and haven't gotten sick of it yet. The sequels are hilarious too, and this could have gone on my author list, but then I wouldn't have had 10 of each, so.

5. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
Quite possibly the funniest book for teens that I've read. It's satirical and celebrates diversity and is one of my favorite audiobooks.

6. How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
Not for the faint of heart, this one is a hilarious book about serious issues. I admire Caitlin Moran so much for writing it.

7. They Call Me Naughty Lola: Personal Ads From the London Review of Books
I don't know if I'd want to date any of these people, but boy are they clever and hilarious!

8. American Housewife by Helen Ellis
These short stories are darkly comic and might appeal to fans of Where'd You Go Bernadette or Jenny Lawson.

9. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
I liked Moriarty's book The Husband's Secret, but I loved this one. Who knew a book about murder and domestic abuse could be so funny?

10. The Cry of the Sloth by Sam Savage
Oh, The Cry of the Sloth! Will I ever stop recommending you? Will I ever refrain from putting you on my Staff Picks shelf at work? I think not. This book about one man's downward spiral, told through his collected writings, is dark and kind of sad but I laughed all the way through.

Authors:

1. Jenny Lawson: Let's Pretend This Never Happened and Furiously Happy, and of course her blog.

2. Laurie Perry: Drunk, Divorced, and Covered in Cat Hair and Home is Where the Wine Is

3. Jennifer Weiner: It all started with Good in Bed, but she is funny all the time. If you ever get a chance to attend a reading, do so! She didn't even read at the last one I went to, she just spoke, and it was hilarious.

4. Kristan Higgins: The Best Man, The Perfect Match, and Waiting On You are the first three in the Blue Heron Winery series of contemporary romances and nothing makes romance more palatable to me than humor.

5. Mary Roach: Packing for Mars, Stiff, and Bonk are the ones I've read so far.

6. Nick Hornby: He's written a ton, but I almost think my favorites are his books about books, such as Shakespeare Wrote for Money and More Baths, Less Talking

7. Julia Quinn: The first romance author I tried and it was her humor that sucked me in. Just Like Heaven, A Night Like This, and The Sum of All Kisses are the ones I've read.

8. Daniel Handler: He's written a lot of great stuff, but the best and funniest are the books in A Series of Unfortunate Events, written under his pen name Lemony Snicket. He's also hilarious in person, so if you get the opportunity to hear him speak, don't miss it.

9. David Sedaris: I've read Holidays on Ice and When You Are Engulfed in Flames.

10. Andrew Smith: Winger, Stand-Off, Grasshopper Jungle, 100 Sideways Miles, and more.

I know I'm forgetting something or somebody. What did I miss? And what other funny books should I read? Tell me in the comments!

3 comments:

Lindsay said...

Great list! I love that you included individual books AND authors -- wish I would've thought of that! We have a decent amount of overlap this week! Plus I've been meaning to read a Mary Roach book for-ev-er and "American Housewives" is on my to-read list. I've never heard of "The Cry of the Sloth," but I'm going to look it up. I mean, if it's on your Staff Picks, it must be good! (Not being sarcastic -- I know firsthand that choosing a book for the shelf of honor is a big deal!)

Carrie said...

I adore Kristan Higgins! :) My TTT

3goodrats said...

I really disliked the first Kristan Higgins book I tried to read (I think it was Just One of the Guys?) but I'm so glad I gave her another chance!